Hostel Earth
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.3

"MORE THAN I EXPECTED!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Sumz H. of Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   October 17, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I booked this trip last minute. I was attending a conference and on a student budget, did not want to spend too much money and still be close to the conference centre right downtown. Booking was easy. I left a note when booking about arriving after midnight and they made it easy to get in and settle down. Check-in was the next day when I had time. The room assignment was thoughtful - Tatiana read my mind and gave me the privacy and quietness I needed. She provides a full tour of the place and makes sure everyone is comfortable and familiar with the area for each guest. The hostel was clean and quaint. Getting around was easy, even with cabs in my case it was cheaper than staying downtown. The private room felt like I was staying at my friends/family's place with a clothes rack and not lockers. I was comfortable and happy. All in all, clean, friendly and thoughtful service with a great location. Only set back lack of access to the street car. Would definitely stay there again, even if its not just on a budget! Thank you for a great experience!

"Would Stay Again"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Wayfaring S. of City, United States
Reviewed:   September 5, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was my first time staying at a place like this and I thought it was pretty cool... The staff was very courteous and the house was very clean. I didn't have any security concerns. It was within walking distance to some very good food choices and bars. My only area for improvement would be the temperature control. The AC was set at a very warm temp and it would have been great to have been able to have a fan in the room for a cooler nights sleep. That said I would return.

"Great stay at Garden District House"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Lisiane K. of Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed:   September 2, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My partner and I really enjoyed our stay with them in New Orleans.
We had a private bedroom in the house and the place was clean and organised. Tatiana was nice and helped us giving information about the city and tours.
It was great to have waflles for breakfast!
Defintely recommend this place to other travellers.

"Great value for money"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Kirsty B. of Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 8, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were just looking for somewhere cheap to stay for the night as we were just travelling through the south and would be in Louisiana for less than 24 hours. Garden district house way exceeded our expectations. Tatianna was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the house is clean and in a good location. It made me feel safe that they have cameras outside where we parked.

"Tip Top!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Sebastian F. of Lübeck, Germany
Reviewed:   May 12, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Super Hostel! Sauber, Nettes Personal, netter Hinterhof, Frühstück miteinbegriffen, sauber,... allerdings nur 2 duschen aber mehrere Toiletten. Alles sauber und in Schuss. Würde wieder buchen.
Nach einem kurzen Fußmarsch (

"Great staff"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Rosalie D. of Montréal, Canada
Reviewed:   April 26, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had the pleasure to spend 4 nights in the Garden district house and we really enjoyed our stay. The place is clean and the staff very helpful.

+100 pts to Tatiana's awesomeness

"Great for a late check-in, super accommodating"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Samantha H. of Oakland, CA, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The only flight we were able to book from San Francisco to New Orleans landed at 4:00 am. Thankfully, the hostel staff were able to put my key card in an envelope in an outside mailbox, and we were able to get into our room just fine. The staff were very friendly and the hostel was very clean. We only spent one night here, as we stayed in an AirBNB for the duration of the trip. But I would stay here again!

"Great stay!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Nevin M. of NOLA, United States
Reviewed:   April 6, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Only one night twice in three months, but service and accomodations were spot on each time.

"Great Place"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Sean B. of Pensacola, FL, United States
Reviewed:   March 21, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great hostel, very homey feeling. The staff is super nice and helpful, we had Maira help us out with a lot of info! Very liberal in terms of what you’re allowed to do. Also within walking distance of the French quarter. The hostel itself was very clean as well. The terrace outside is very nice and the immediate area is very safe, we parked our car right out front the whole night. Definitely recommend staying here if you’re on a budget or just want a unique experience!

"Staff was nice, but not worth the money"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Allison C. of Boston, United States
Reviewed:   March 20, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We booked a room with a double bed for $60. We like staying in hostels and don't mind sharing bathroom and kitchen while traveling. Upon arrival the staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was nice, in a neighborhood away from the hustle of the French Quarter. We like walking and the French Quarter was about a 30 minute walk from the hostel. Our room, however, had no windows and was right next to the tile-floored kitchen/common area which echoed everything. Every time anyone entered the hostel or spoke in the common space, it was very loud and we did not sleep well. The bed had a squeaky plastic liner and our one comforter did not feel like enough on the chilly night, but there were no extra blankets and the staff is not there from 11pm-7am. The breakfast was very minimal (pancake batter with pancake fixings). If you are only paying $25 for a room in one of the dorms and don't mind a little grime or noise, I think this place would be worth it, but in my opinion, paying $60 for the room that we had was not a good use of our money. For an extra $30 we could have in a hotel.


1 - 10 of 90 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelEarth Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us